Journey Two – here I come!

kingfisher-83836_1280

Journey Two starts tomorrow morning – as a dear friend said in her beautiful card that arrived yesterday : “The Migrant Kingfisher is taking flight again!”  This time I am turning right. Don’t laugh. When friends asked me where I was going on my first Journey I told them I was turning left. You know, from Geneva left is western France, northern Spain, and Portugal. This time going RIGHT I will traverse northern Italy (including Turin; Pavia; Mantua; Lake Garda; Verona and Padua) then cross into Croatia. I will go down the whole coast of Croatia, catch a ferry to Bari in Southern Italy, and make my way gently back to Geneva somehow – an itinerary yet to be determined. Do send ideas.

Once again I feel excitement mingled with a little trepidation, for there will no doubt be challenges. However, I am confident that the magnificent sights and adventures I will experience will outweigh any trials. And the trials are learning opportunities, right?

I am seizing the day. Journeying whilst I can, as one never knows what the future holds. I lost a most revered, beloved mentor and friend aged 99 years very recently. She would have approved. One of the many poems she sent me during our forty year connection is the ancient Sanskrit one below. I shall light a candle for her in a special place of worship on my way.

So here I go. Thank you for following Migrant Kingfisher on my journeys around Europe, towards positive ageing, within my heart and my “self”.    Enjoy the ride.

 

LOOK TO THIS DAY

Look to this day for it is life

The very Life of Life

In its brief course lie all the realities

And truths of existence:

The Joy of Growth,

The Splendour of Action

And the Glory of Being.

For every yesterday is only a memory

And tomorrow is only a vision.

But today well lived

Makes every yesterday a memory of happiness

And every tomorrow a vision of hope.

Look well therefore to this day!

  –  +  –

 

Mundaka beach and rug

Have backpack – will travel.

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Journey Two – here I come!”
  1. Joannie says:

    Travel well, I am so proud of you. Enjoy the journey but take care – you are very precious, J.

  2. Jenny says:

    Bon Vogage to a very special Traveller. You can do it and are doing it and my love and thoughts are with you every step of your journey. Jenny xxxx

  3. Rosie says:

    Wishing you a truly fantastic time ! Have a safe journey and I look forward to hearing all your news over the next few months! My thoughts will be with you, take care. Rosie

  4. Suzy says:

    Wishing you a quiet mind, a happy heart and a soul full of wonder xx

Would you like to leave a comment?

