Not all those who wander are lost

The decision has, just about, been made. I start my first major solo journey around Europe in September when I shall be free of commitments.   Nerves mix with excitement in equal measure.

If I feel nervous then why am I doing this? I go back to my original feelings when I started this blog, the need to shake up my road and then see how the paving lies ahead of me.

I have come to think that this feeling may be my reaction to aging. The desire to continue to learn, grow, experience life to the full.  To avoid the sense of “Is that it?.

The question now being posed in my mind is how much to plan and how much to be a free spirit. At the moment I have no route planned, no stopping off stages, nor a return date. Some friends are rather alarmed at this and encourage me to make some firm arrangements. But I have a hankering to take things in a less structured style, possibly for once in my life.   So, if I am finding an area interesting then stay a while, if not hasten on. It’s curious that I am attracted to the idea of less control over my roaming. Not all those who wander are lost.

So, I set forth to explore France in September, destinations on my route as yet unknown, length of time away undetermined, other countries to possibly reach unspecified. As I said to a friend yesterday, “I am just going to turn left.”   How perfect is that?

 

Not All Those Who Wander are Lost

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

J.R.R. Tolkein

My daughter’s favourite poem.

Comments
One Response to “Not all those who wander are lost”
  1. Hayley says:

    I am looking forward to reading about your journey. It’s inspiring! X

Would you like to leave a comment?

